Day 1

Yesterday was an easy day. Obviously, if I’m starting from nothing I’m not going to run a marathon. I went to the gym and walked/ran about 2 miles. I’m still tender from a surgery I had a few months ago but I pushed myself farther than I normally would. I still kind of wanted to cry.

Surgery is a funny thing. You need it, but it kind of messes up your world. Before the surgery I was running two-three miles each time I went out, now I can’t even run one. I’m trying not to get discouraged. All of those skills will return. Those, and new ones.

What’s the plan? Well, it’s pretty simple. Lose 30 pounds and get in shape. I know I can do it. More than that though it’s about making a lifestyle change. I’m tired of this being the one thing I’m most ashamed of. I’m a great mother and wife. I’m a excellent worker and have a good job. I don’t take care of myself though.

When I signed up for the gym I signed up for personal training as well. My hands were shaking as I did it. I was afraid of letting myself down, but more than that I an afraid of the work it’s going to take.

This blog is going to be my personal accountability log. I know I can do this. I’m sure of it. I just need to do it. Documenting my progress will keep me honest.

Tonight is my first personal training session. I’m scared in a way I don’t even have the right words for.

Leave a Reply

